top of page
Search
  • DanceYourRoots

Danza Contemporanea de Cuba and Diversity

I was born mixed race and even before knowing the meaning of it, I was already dealing with discrimination episodes and the Western society idea of diversity. In 2017, after saving and dreaming for a year I finally managed to travel solo to Cuba for a month where I realized to be back home. Why Cuba?

Folkloric Cuban Traditional dance is a discipline that was already IN my body dance language. When a dance is moving you, are we not supposed to follow? As a dancer I know that each of us have a dance style that more is connecting to our body and mind, a dance that fill you with intensity and somehow you know that it belongs to you. Since that realization I decided to focus on the history, on the dance, the drumming and the spirituality of Cuban culture.

Cuban are mostly from Yoruba (Nigerian African tribe) and Spanish descendants and this is only one obvious and scientific connection that I have with them: yes, my father is a Yoruba Nigerian and my mother Italian from Spanish descendent.

I am chasing my roots and I know that I need to go back there to keep exploring and discovering my ancestry. Why Dance then? Dance is my tool, my instrument trough I dive into life especially into the concept of identity and self-esteem. My dance experience in Cuba taught me another way of perceiving and living diversity, I realized the meaning of individuality, the strength of knowing your roots and the beauty of having two or three ancestries. You and you only define who you are as my core belief I always make sure that my students receive and dance in this simple principle.



Choose from 8 stunning layouts

Your Wix Blog comes with 8 beautiful layouts. From your blog's settings, choose the layout that’s right for you. For example, a tiled layout is popular for helping visitors discover more posts that interest them. Or, choose a classic single column layout that lets readers scroll down and see your post topics one by one.

Every layout comes with the latest social features built in. Readers can easily share posts on social networks like Facebook and Twitter and view how many people have liked a post, made comments and more.


Add media to your posts

When creating your posts you can:

  • Upload images or GIFs

  • Embed videos and music

  • Create galleries to showcase a media collection

Customize the look of your media by making it widescreen or small and easily align media inside your posts.



Hashtag your posts

Love to #hashtag? Good news!

You can add tags (#vacation #dream #summer) throughout your posts to reach more people. Why hashtag? People can use your hashtags to search through content on your blog and find the content that matters to them. So go ahead and #hashtag away!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page